NC, PDP stay away as BJP, Apni Party attend swearing-in ceremony of new LG

The Kashmir Walla needs you, urgently. Only you can do it.

The Kashmir Walla plans to extensively and honestly cover — break, report, and analyze — everything that matters to you. You can help us.

Most Read This Week

National Conference and Peoples Democratic Party Member of Parliaments (MP) on Friday stayed away from the swearing-in ceremony of Lieutenant Governor Manoj Kumar Sinha in Srinagar.

Unnamed sources told a local news agency, Kashmir News Observer (KNO), that none of the MPs from the National Conference (NC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) attended the function held at Raj Bhavan in Srinagar.

“All MPs of NC and lone PDP Rajya Sabha MP Fayaz Ahmad Mir stayed away from the function,” they said, adding that expelled PDP MP Nazir Ahmad Laway attended the function.

Mr. Laway was expelled last year by the party for attending swearing-in ceremony of Girish Chandra Murmu on 31 October 2019 when he took oath as the first LG of J-K UT.

KNO also reported, quoting unnamed sources, that top Bharatiya Janata Party leaders of J-K including Union Minister of State Jitendra Singh, Kavinder Gupta, Nirmal Singh, Ravinder Raina, Ashok Koul, and Sofi Yosouf attended the ceremony.

Interestingly, three politicians from Apni Party, Ghulam Hassan Mir, Rafi Ahmad Mir, and Muhammad Ashraf Mir, were present there.

Both Ghulam Hassan Mir and Rafi Ahmad Mir were trounced in 2014 elections from Gulmarg and Pahalgam segments respectively. (KNO)

Choose a plan as per your location

Latest News

Stop teaching during school hrs or face action: ADC Sopore warns coaching centres

The authorities on Saturday warned coaching institutions, operating in Sopore town of north Kashmir’s Baramulla district, of strict action...

More Articles Like This