J-K without representation in Rajya Sabha for third time in history

The Kashmir Walla needs you, urgently. Only you can do it.

The Kashmir Walla plans to extensively and honestly cover — break, report, and analyze — everything that matters to you. You can help us.

Most Read This Week

For the third time in the past seven decades, Jammu and Kashmir would be without any representatives in Rajya Sabha from 15 February onwards as all four incumbent members from J-K in the House are completing their term in the next six days.

The similar situation had also arisen twice since 1952.

According to details, all four RS berths of J-K remained vacant for a period of more than two years between 1994 to 1996 due to absence of Assembly in the erstwhile state of Jammu & Kashmir.

From 2 April 1994 when Ghulam Rasool Matto completed his term, J-K was without representation in the House till November 1996 when four vacancies were filled.

Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sharifuddin Shariq, Saifuddin Soz and Karan Singh were elected as RS members in 1996 when state elections were held after a gap of six years due to militancy.

The erstwhile state’s four RS seats also remained vacant for a brief period in 2008 when J-K came under Governor rule after People’s Democratic Party (PDP) withdrew support to Ghulam Nabi Azad-led government.

All incumbent RS members from J-K will complete their six-year terms between 10-15February.

While the terms of Mir Muhammad Fayaz and Shamsher Singh Manhas will end on 10 February, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Nazir Ahmad Laway will complete their tenure on 15 February.

It is worthwhile to mention that J-K has been sending its representatives in Rajya Sabha since 1952 when the President of India nominated members from J-K on recommendation of the constituent Assembly.

Till 1967, even Lok Sabha members from J-K were nominated on recommendation of the State government. (KNO)

Choose a plan as per your location

Latest News

Restoration of statehood is fundamental right of J-K people: Rahul Gandhi

Congress leader and Member of Parliament Rahul Gandhi on Sunday said that there has been no change in the...

More Articles Like This