Govt declares Kashmir’s districts red zones, except Bandipora and Ganderbal

The Kashmir Walla needs you, urgently. Only you can do it.

The Kashmir Walla plans to extensively and honestly cover — break, report, and analyze — everything that matters to you. You can help us.

Most Read This Week

Srinagar: The Jammu and Kashmir government on Sunday declared eight districts in Kashmir and one in Jammu as red zones in view of the recent spike in the number of COVID-19 cases.

An order issued by Chief Secretary J-K, B V R Subrahmanyam declared all Kashmir districts, except Ganderbal and Bandipore that are listed in orange zone, as red zones.

In Jammu, Ramban district has been declared as red zone while as Karthia, Samba, Reasi, Udhampur, Poonch, Rajouri, and Jammu have been included in the list of orange zones.

Doda and Kishtwar are the only districts, which have been declared as Green zones as per the order. The new categorization of the districts has been made after the latest assessment of the spread of COVID-19 in view of the inter-state movement of people in view of the relaxation in the lockdown restrictions.

The categorization will be reviewed periodically by the government. The government had last month also declared all Kashmir districts except Ganderbal and Bandipore as red zones.

Choose a plan as per your location

Latest News

Summer vacation for Jammu schools from May 23 to June 9

The School Education Department on Saturday announced summer vacations in Jammu region for all classes from May-23 and May-30...

More Articles Like This