Ten agencies can ‘monitor, intercept, decrypt’ your computers


Most Read This Week

The government has authorized ten security and intelligence agencies for “interception, monitoring, and decryption of any information generated, transmitted, received or stored in any computer.”

The order was passed by the Ministry of Home Affairs on 20 December, mentioning all the ten agencies, as “Intelligence Bureau, Narcotics Control Bureau, Enforcement Directorate, Central Board of Direct Taxes, Directorate of Revenue Intelligence, Central Bureau of Investigation, National Investigation Agency, Cabinet Secretariat (RAW), Directorate of Signal Intelligence (For service areas of Jammu & Kashmir, North-East and Assam only) and Commissioner of Police, Delhi.”

kashmir, delhi, mha, home ministry order, it act in india
The copy of the order.

According to a report in The Hindu, ” the subscriber or service provider or any person in charge of the computer resource will be bound to extend all facilities and technical assistance to the agencies and failing to do will invite seven-year imprisonment and fine, as per the order.”

The order has been passed under 69 (1) of the Information Technology Act, 2000.

Choose a plan as per your location

Latest News

GOI extends suspension of scheduled Int’l commercial passenger services till 28 Feb

The Government of India has decided to extend the suspension of scheduled international commercial passenger services till 28 February,...

More Articles Like This