Shahid Afridi picks his all time World Cup XI, and it is full of surprises

JK Bank

Former Pakistan cricketer Shahid Afridi has picked his all-time World Cup team and it is filled with many surprises.

The team features four Pakistani players including world cup winning Wasim Akram and Inzimam-ul-Haq.


The notable omissions are legendary Pakistan captain Imran Khan and Indian greats Sachin Tendulkar and MS Dhoni

The lone Indian in the side is current captain Virat Kohli.

Saeed Anwar and Adam Gilchrist will open the batting for the maverick cricketers side, while Ricky Ponting who will bat at number is a certain to captain the side.

Indian legend Virat Kohli will bat at number three while game’s best ever all-rounder Jacques Kallis will bat after Pakistan great Inzimam-ul-Haq.

The team features  two spinners in greatest ever leg spinner Shane Warne and the man behind ‘Dusra’ Saqlain Mushtaq.

The pace department will be spearheaded by left arm great Wasim Akram who will have Glenn Mcgrath to partner.

The side has no cricketer from New Zealand,  West Indies and Bangladesh.

Shahid Afridi’s all-time World Cup XI: Saeed Anwar, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Virat Kohli, Inzamam ul-Haq, Jacques Kallis, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shane Warne, Shoaib Akhtar, Saqlain Mushtaq